2017 Leadership Council

Zachary De La Rosa, Chair, Leadership Council – Transportation Insight

Zachary De La Rosa is a Raleigh native and graduated from UNC Chapel Hill in 2012 with a Bachelor's degree in math and economics.  After teaching math in the Teach for America program on the Texas-Mexico border, he returned to North Carolina to work in logistics consulting and project management at Transportation Insight.

He joined HYP in 2014 to grow personally and professionally.  He has been involved in the leadership council to help foster a spirit of community.

Zachary has previously served as the Membership Committee Chair and the Event Committee Chair.  He currently chairs the Leadership Council.



Logan Shook, Treasurer, Leadership Council - Town of Cajahs Mountain


Logan graduated from CCC&TI in 2012 with an Associate in Arts.  He later graduated from Appalachian State University in 2014 with a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Public Administration, with a minor in Community Planning.  Then he graduated Lenoir-Rhyne University in 2016 with a Master of Arts in Leadership Candidate with a focus on General Management.

Logan is originally from the Hickory/Lenoir area.  He learned about HYP from a friend who was working within Hickory, who told him he should check it out and see what he thought.  After attending several of HYP professional and social events HYP, Logan knew he wanted to contribute to the group.




Amy Sigmon, Leadership Council Member – Carolina Trust Bank

Amy Sigmon graduated from Lenoir-Rhyne University with Bachelor's in Finance.  She later gained her Master's of Business Administration (MBA) with an emphasis in Banking & Finance from Gardner Webb University.

Amy is originally from Hickory, and she got involved with the initial HYP event at Catawba Country Club. She went to a couple events then joined the Membership Committee, from then went on to join the Leadership Council in 2010.

Amy was the 2014 Events Committee Chair and has served as the Events Committee Co-Chair.


Sarah Davis, Leadership Council Member - Hickory Metro Convention Center & Visitors Bureau
Sarah graduated from Appalachian State University with a Bachelor's degree in Hospitality & Tourism Management.  She is the Director of Sales and Marketing Coordinator for the Hickory Metro Convention Center & Visitors Bureau.
She is originally from the Hickory/Alexander County area and joined HYP in 2015 to become more involved in the community and grow professionally.




Cole Reynolds, Leadership Council Member – Vanguard Furniture

Cole Reynolds was born and raised in Flint, Michigan.   In 2009 he starting learning furniture design at Kendall College of Art and Design while minoring in functional art.  With a growing interest in functionalism and high end craftsmanship, he spent the summer of 2011 studying Scandinavian design in Copenhagen, Denmark. In the summer of 2012 he graduated from Kendall College, married the love of his life, and moved to North Carolina to pursue a career in the furniture industry.  Cole is currently a Product Development Engineer and Designer at  Vanguard Furniture in Hickory NC.  Though networking, travel and hard work, Cole continues to broaden his experience and knowledge of fine furnishing and fashion.


Derek Zealy-Wright, Leadership Council Member – Martin Starnes & Associates, CPAs, P.A.

Derek Zealy-Wright graduated from Lenoir Rhyne University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management in 2009.  He then completed his Master’s in Business Administration with a concentration in accounting in 2011. 

Derek currently works as an Audit Accountant for Martin Starnes & Associates, CPAs, P.A.  He has served on young professional boards previously with the Hickory Jaycees in roles including Membership Vice President in charge of recruitment, treasurer, and President of the Board of Directors.  He also is serving on the Board of Directors for ALFA (Area Leadership Foothills Alliance).  Derek is passionate about community service and leadership development of young professionals. 

Originally from Caldwell County, Derek has resided in Catawba County for seventeen years.  He is excited to be involved with an organization that has its sights set on achieving new heights and growing to be a foundation for entrepreneurial development of young professionals for the future of Catawba County.


Madison Weaver, Secretary, Leadership Council Member – The Catawba County Chamber of Commerce

Madison Weaver is a 2016 graduate of Appalachian State University with a degree in Finance and Banking. She was born and raised in the Catawba County area, currently residing in Hickory. In May 2017 Madison started as the Director of New Investor and Shareholder Development at the Catawba County Chamber of Commerce. 



Leslie Ellis, Leadership Council Member – Lenoir Rhyne University

Originally from Wilson, NC, Leslie Ellis refers to Hickory as her home.

After moving to Hickory in 2012 to begin school at Lenoir-Rhyne University, she graduated with two degrees in Broadcasting & Electronic Media and Multimedia Journalism. Immediately following her graduation in 2016, she began working for her alma mater overseeing all Digital Communications for the Office of Marketing & Communications. Currently, Leslie is pursuing her Master's in Business Administration.

She is excited about ​being on the HYP Leadership Council and connecting with young professionals in the area and community leaders.






2017 Leadership Council

Interested in joining the Leadership Council? Email, info@hickoryhyp.com for more information!